The mission of the Library’s Campus History Collection (CHC) is to acquire, document, preserve, and provide access to materials, documents, artifacts, and ephemera that directly relay the unique history, traditions, and heritage of the California State University Maritime Academy, from its inception in 1929 to the present.
The CHC is not an archive for general maritime history or industry, California State University documents, or documents not significant to Cal Maritime’s history.
Campus History Center
253 Georgia Street
Vallejo, CA 94590
Campus History Center hours:
Archivist: Patricia Thibodeau at (707) 654-1089 or by email at email@example.com.
Please note that this is a non-circulating collection unless permission is deemed necessary and granted by the Dean of the Library.
Although not a comprehensive list, the following are the types of materials collected:
Examples from campus sources:
Examples from alumni or other external sources:
A portion of the Campus History Collection has been cataloged in the Library's catalog.
Currently, the Library is developing an online Institutional Repository for the collection, preservation, access, and display of digital items. A small portion of the collection has been digitized, including the Hawsepipe Yearbooks, historic photographs, and legislative documents related to the founding of the institution.
In general, the Campus History Collection grows from the generous efforts of the Academy’s current campus community of faculty, staff, and students as well as from alumni or other external constituents. Only materials that reflect the history of the Academy are considered and evaluated by the CHC Coordinator and librarians for their relevance and importance.
Potential donors should contact the Dean of the Library at 707-654-1097. Email inquiries to firstname.lastname@example.org are also acceptable. Please be prepared to describe in full items for donation and their significance to the California Maritime Academy’s history.
The Library will not accept donations of personnel records or evaluations, student transcripts, business and accounting ledgers or other financial records.
All donations, transfers, acquisitions, or gifts become the permanent property of the Library and the Campus History Collection, unless specified by the donor in writing at the time of receipt.
Based on the appraisal and judgment of the CHC Coordinator, librarians, and staff, donated materials may be disposed of, transferred, or de-accessioned at a later date if deemed redundant, duplicative, or not of enduring value to the collection.
By law, the Library is not allowed to appraise or assess a value to any donation received. Assessment of value is solely the responsibility of the donor.
Monetary donations in support of the Campus History Collection are also greatly appreciated. Monetary donations should be coordinated through the Academy’s Office of University Advancement, (707) 654-1246, or may be made online.