Your Librarian
Feedback for Ms. Janssen
Engineering Information Sources
Unlike some other disciplines, engineers use a wide variety of information formats. They might use handbooks or manuals, technical reports, and gray literature. Some of these sources may not appear in the library databases that are taught in general education courses. It can be beneficial to be aware of these other information sources and formats.
OneSearch
- Find research materials (articles, books, e-books, reports, DVDs, and more) at Cal Maritime.
- Request delivery of items from other CSU libraries via CSU+.
Databases
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines Compendex (comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research) and GEOBASE® (multidisciplinary database of literature on the earth sciences, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation).
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles and book chapters in the areas of Physical Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowContains journal, magazine and newspaper articles on a broad range of topics.
Technical Reports
- NASA PubSpace This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An open-access repository to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research. - Technical Report Archive and Image Library - TRAIL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. - National Technical Reports Library - Open NTRL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maintains the world’s most comprehensive collection of U.S.-sponsored research. Houses more than 3 million publications, and data covers topics that range from aerodynamics to urban development. The archive spans the Manhattan project to present.
- Science.gov
- This link opens in a new window
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results. - OSTI.GOV
- This link opens in a new window
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. OSTI.GOV contains nearly 3 million citations, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. It also has more than 445,000 full-text DOE-funded STI documents.