Welcome to the Federal Data - Alternate Access page
This page includes information and resources on accessing federal government data through alternate repositories if it is not directly available through federal agencies or data.gov. It is based on a document from UC Berkeley Libraries and will be updated as possible. If you have questions, please contact the library.
General Repositories of Federal Data
The resources listed here encompass repositories which provide access to data and information from multiple federal government agencies.
- Archive of data.gov - Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab"This is a regularly updated mirror of all data files linked from data.gov. The repository is maintained by the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab as part of our project to preserve U.S. federal public data."
- DataLumos (ICPSR)A crowd-sourced repository for valuable government data.
- GovWaybackThis site, not affiliated with the Internet Archive, allows you to easily access historical versions of U.S. government websites from before January 20, 2025 with a simple URL change.
- Internet Archive Wayback MachineUse a URL or word search to find archived web pages.
- End of Term Web ArchiveThe End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations.
- SDOH & Place Project DataData from the Social/Structural Determinants of Health (SDOH) at the University of Illinois.
- Data Liberation ProjectThe Data Liberation Project obtains government data through FOIA requests. Datasets include USCG Boating Accidents and National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health's Commercial Fishing Incidents Database.
Agency Datasets
These links go to backups of federal agency data, in alphabetical order.
Bureau of the Census
- American Housing SurveyNational, 2021 and 2023; Metropolitan, 2023 (DataLumos)
Centers for Disease Control
- CDC Environmental Justice Index2022 and 2024, available by state (GitHub)
- CDC National Youth Risk Behavior Survey2015-2023 (DataLumos)
- Extracted Data From: CDC/ATSDR Social Vulnerability Index(Harvard Dataverse)
- CDC Data + Screening ToolsResources from the Center for Disease Control. We will continue updating this page, provide guidance about the data, and ways to access this information for technical and non-technical folks.
Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ)
- Climate and Economic Justice Screening ToolVersion 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024 (Data + Screening Tools)
- Extracted Data From: Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool 1.0(Harvard Dataverse)
Department of Education
Proprietary databases facilitate searching ERIC and may retain articles if they are removed from public access.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.4 million records in the field of education.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.4 million records in the field of education.
Energy Information Administration
- Five-year dataset depicting electric power generation and CO2 emissions within the U.S. electricity sectorJuly 2018 to June 2023 (Harvard Dataverse, National Studies on Air Pollution and Health (NSAPH))
Environmental Protection Agency
- Council on Environmental Quality EJScorecard(Internet Archive Wayback Machine)
- Extracted Data From: EPA Outdoor Air Quality Data (AQS)(Harvard Dataverse)
- Extracted Data From: TRI Basic Data Plus Files(Harvard Dataverse)
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
- Extracted Data From: IRS Migration Data(Harvard Dataverse)
NOAA
Check back for updates
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards
- Extracted Data From: National Emissions Inventory & Air Emissions(Harvard Dataverse)
Office of Climate Change and Health Equity (OCCHE)
US AID
- U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook)Excel file includes data from 1946–2020 and was prepared on August 9, 2022 (ForeignAssistance dot gov emergency backup)
White House
- Economic Justice Screening Tool - Unofficial"Unofficial copy of the CEJST Tool”
Additional Federal Data Resources
Maritime Resources
- USCG Boating Accident Report Database (Data Liberation Project)Data from the USCG's Boating Accident Report Database (BARD), a central, national database of recreational boating accidents. Updated via FOIA requests.
- NIOSH Commercial Fishing Incident Database (Data Liberation Project)Information on US fishing industry fatalities and vessel disasters from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH).
Cal Maritime Licensed Resources
Our databases often include data derived from federal government sources.
- Sage Data [formerly Data Planet] This link opens in a new windowContains more than 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets sourced from more than 70 source organizations. There are billions of charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reports on over 1,000 industry topics. Access to 1 million statistics – ready to use in PPT, XLS and PNG. Includes COVID-19-related data and infographics, including supply chain and other economic impact summaries on various industry sectors. Includes reports on individual countries.
Intro: Watch a short tutorial on searching in Statista.
This link opens in a new window
Advanced: Find Statista tutorials on advanced topics.
This link opens in a new window
Data Preservation Information
- Research Data Management GuideThis guide from the University of Utah Libraries provides information on accessing, storing and archiving data.