Your Librarian
Using the Harmonized System
HS numbers are six-digit codes used to categorize products that are traded between countries.
They tend to focus on the raw materials that make up a product.
You will need HS numbers to determine tariff and license requirements for your product.
The United States assigns four additional digits to all HS numbers to create 10-digit Schedule B numbers
HS numbers are the same as Schedule B numbers for the first six digits
Finding Tariff Info with WTO Tariff Data
Feel free to explore the other tariff resources as well. This box walks you through finding tariff info for a product in different countries using WTO Tariff Data's Tariff Download feature.
1. Go to WTO Tariff Data at the link below. Notice the information on the page, including the Jargon Buster with definitions down the page on the right.
- WTO Tariff DataThe WTO website offers two options for researching members’ customs duty rates and in many cases imports. Tariff Analysis Online, provides detailed tariff rates on products and import statistics. The Tariff Download Facility provides more general standardized tariff statistics with the ability to compare between countries.
2. Select Tariff Download Facility.
3. Click Next. You click Next to move through this tool.
4. Under Reporters, select the countries you're interested in. You can select multiple countries.
5. Under Products, you can either search for the HS number(s) of your product, or select progressively more specific HS numbers. You can select multiple HS numbers.
6. Click Next.
7. Select the format for your download file, and save it. Note that AV means ad valorem rates which are charged as a percentage; bound rates are a ceiling which may be applied. Definitions are on the main WTO tariff data page.
- WTO Tariff Download Facility brochureInfo on how to use the Tariff Download Facility, with screenshots.
The image below shows what a file downloaded from the WTO Tariff Download Facility can look like.
Tariffs and Trade Data
- World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data.
- Schedule B Search (3CE Classify)Locate the Schedule B number for your product. Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Country tariffs and taxesSearch for tariffs by HS number and destination country. This database requires registration (free).
- Trade Stats ExpressFind recent export and import data in dollars by country. Change "NAICS - Total" to a specific product category.
- WTO Tariff DataThe WTO website offers two options for researching members’ customs duty rates and in many cases imports. Tariff Analysis Online, provides detailed tariff rates on products and import statistics. The Tariff Download Facility provides more general standardized tariff statistics with the ability to compare between countries.
- USA Trade OnlineCurrent and cumulative U.S. export and import data, provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Sign up for a free account to access. - UN ComtradeFree access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
- Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United StatesPublication of the US International Trade Commission. Editions of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States Annotated (HTSA) are available from 1989 (the first year of publication) - present.
- 2022 National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade BarriersAn annual report published by the Office of the United States Trade Representative (of the Office of the President). The National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (NTE) surveys foreign barriers to U.S. exports. The report provides some estimates of the impact of foreign practices on the value of U.S. exports. Note that other relevant documents may be provided on this page.
Where to Find Trade Data?
- Data Sources for Trade Policy Analysis
Use this presentation by Arun Jacob to learn about the process of trade and tariff research. Covers two different types of classification systems: Harmonized System and Standard International Trade Classification (SITC), and how to apply them to many different data sources.
From the workshop on Capacity Building on Trade Policy Analysis, hosted by Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) and the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS), October 2016 in Sri Lanka.
