Ask me!
Nautical Chart Symbols, Abbreviations and Terms
U.S. Chart No. 1 describes the symbols, abbreviations, and terms used on nautical charts. It is produced by NOAA and the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency. The symbols for paper charts and their analogous digital products, such as NOAA raster navigational charts (NOAA RNC®) are shown, as well as the symbols used to portray NOAA electronic navigational charts (NOAA ENC®) data on Electronic Chart Display and Information Systems (ECDIS).
Paper copies of U.S. Chart No.1 may be purchased from a NOAA certified printer; visit the NOAA's Chart No. 1 page for more information.
- U.S. Chart No. 1 U.S. Chart No. 1 describes the symbols, abbreviations, and terms used on nautical charts. It is produced by NOAA and the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency. The symbols for paper charts and their analogous digital products, such as NOAA raster navigational charts (NOAA RNC®) are shown, as well as the symbols used to portray NOAA electronic navigational charts (NOAA ENC®) data on Electronic Chart Display and Information Systems (ECDIS). Paper copies of U.S. Chart No.1 may be purchased from a NOAA certified printer.
NOAA US Chart Catalogs
NOAA provides easy access to its 1,000-plus U.S. coastal and Great Lakes nautical charts. Each chart has the most recent Notice to Mariners corrections.
- NOAA Interactive Chart LocatorLocate NOAA paper or electronic charts, or coast pilots, by place name, chart, or latitude / longitude.
Atlas of Pilot Charts
Pilot Charts depict averages in prevailing winds and currents, air and sea temperatures, wave heights, ice limits, visibility, barometric pressure, and weather conditions at different times of the year. The information used to compile these averages was obtained from oceanographic and meteorologic observations over many decades during the late 18th and 19th centuries.
The Atlas of Pilot Charts set is comprised of five volumes, each covering a specific geographic region. Each volume is an atlas of twelve pilot charts, each depicting the observed conditions for a particular month of any given year.
The charts are intended to aid the navigator in selecting the fastest and safest routes with regards to the expected weather and ocean conditions. The charts are not intended to be used for navigation.
- Atlas of Pilot ChartsThe Atlas of Pilot Charts is available for free download at the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's Maritime Safety Information website.
Unites States Coast Pilots
The United States Coast Pilot® consists of a series of nautical books that cover a variety of information important to navigators of coastal and intracoastal waters and the Great Lakes. Issued in nine volumes, they contain supplemental information that is difficult to portray on a nautical chart.
Topics in the Coast Pilot include channel descriptions, anchorages, bridge and cable clearances, currents, tide and water levels, prominent features, pilotage, towage, weather, ice conditions, wharf descriptions, dangers, routes, traffic separation schemes, small-craft facilities, and Federal regulations applicable to navigation.
- Coast Pilot 1 - Atlantic Coast: Eastport to Cape CodCoast Pilot 1 covers the coasts of Maine, New Hampshire, and part of Massachusetts, from West Quoddy Head in Maine to Provincetown in Massachusetts. Major ports are at Portsmouth, NH and Boston, MA.
- Coast Pilot 2 - Atlantic Coast: Cape Cod, MA to Sandy Hook, NJCoast Pilot 2 covers the Atlantic coast from Cape Cod to Sandy Hook, embracing part of the Massachusetts coast and all of the coasts of Rhode Island, Connecticut, and New York.
- Coast Pilot 3 - Atlantic Coast: Sandy Hook, NJ to Cape Henry, VACoast Pilot 3 covers the Atlantic coast from Sandy Hook to Cape Henry, including the New Jersey Coast, Delaware Bay, Philadelphia, the Delaware - Maryland - Virginia coast, and the Chesapeake Bay.
- Coast Pilot 4 - Atlantic Coast: Cape Henry to Key WestCoast Pilot 4 covers the Atlantic coast of the United States from Cape Henry to Key West.
- Coast Pilot 5 - Atlantic Coast: Gulf of Mexico, Puerto Rico and the Virgin IslandsCoast Pilot 5 covers the Gulf of Mexico from Key West, FL to the Rio Grande. This area is generally low and mostly sandy, presenting no marked natural features to the mariner approaching from seaward. Coast Pilot 5 also covers Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.
- Coast Pilot 6 - Great Lakes: Lakes Ontario, Erie, Huron, Michigan, and Superior and St. Lawrence RiverCoast Pilot 6 covers the Great Lakes system, including Lakes Ontario, Erie, Huron, Michigan, and Superior, their connecting waters, and the St. Lawrence River.
- Coast Pilot 7 - Pacific Coast: California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, and Pacific IslandsCoast Pilot 7 covers the rugged United States coast of California, Oregon and Washington, between Mexico on the south and Canada's British Columbia on the north. Coast Pilot 7 also includes Hawaii and other United States territories in the South Pacific.
- Coast Pilot 8 - Pacific Coast Alaska: Dixon Entrance to Cape SpencerCoast Pilot 8 covers the panhandle section of Alaska between the south boundary and Cape Spencer. In this volume, general ocean coastline is only 250 nautical miles, but tidal shoreline totals 11,085 miles.
- Coast Pilot 9 - Pacific and Arctic Coasts Alaska: Cape Spencer to Beaufort SeaCoast Pilot 9 deals with the Pacific and Arctic coasts of Alaska from Cape Spencer to the Beaufort Sea. General ocean coastline totals 5,520 nautical miles, and tidal shoreline totals 18,377 miles.