Your Librarian
Search Tips
Take advantage of location or region search filters to find articles focused on your country of interest.
Find and use NAICS codes for specific industries related to your project to get articles about those industries.
Look for suggested topics or subjects to link to related articles.
See your librarian if you get stuck!
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)Find the NAICS Code for your industry. “The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.”
Recommended
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowContains articles about business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
HINT: Use the "Industry Reports" limit to filter by publication type. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowContains company and industry research, company data, annual reports and industry reports.
HINT: Use the "Industry Analysis" tab to find reports on broad industry categories and sectors. Download the PDF versions for best results. - ABI/Inform This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from over 2000 industry journals and trade magazines worldwide. Good source of company and industry intelligence.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reports on over 1,000 industry topics. Access to 1 million statistics – ready to use in PPT, XLS and PNG. Includes COVID-19-related data and infographics, including supply chain and other economic impact summaries on various industry sectors. Includes reports on individual countries.
Intro: Watch a short tutorial on searching in Statista.
This link opens in a new window
Advanced: Find Statista tutorials on advanced topics.
This link opens in a new window
- Top MarketsThe International Trade Administration's Top Markets Series is meant to help exporters determine their next export market by comparing opportunities across borders.
- IMF eLibrary Digital CollectionThe International Monetary Fund has made its collection of digital publications available at no cost, as of January 1, 2020. Topics include global and regional economic outlooks, debt, law, infrastructure, and more. Some resources require creating a free account.
Using the Harmonized System
HS numbers are six-digit codes used to categorize products that are traded between countries.
They tend to focus on the raw materials that make up a product.
You will need HS numbers to determine tariff and license requirements for your product.
The United States assigns four additional digits to all HS numbers to create 10-digit Schedule B numbers
HS numbers are the same as Schedule B numbers for the first six digits
Tariffs and Trade Data
- World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data.
- Schedule B Search (3CE Classify)Locate the Schedule B number for your product. Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Country tariffs and taxesSearch for tariffs by HS number and destination country. This database requires registration (free).
- Trade Stats ExpressFind recent export and import data in dollars by country. Change "NAICS - Total" to a specific product category.
- WTO Tariff DataThe WTO website offers two options for researching members’ customs duty rates and in many cases imports. Tariff Analysis Online, provides detailed tariff rates on products and import statistics. The Tariff Download Facility provides more general standardized tariff statistics with the ability to compare between countries.
- USA Trade OnlineCurrent and cumulative U.S. export and import data, provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Sign up for a free account to access. - UN ComtradeFree access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
- Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United StatesPublication of the US International Trade Commission. Editions of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States Annotated (HTSA) are available from 1989 (the first year of publication) - present.
- 2022 National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade BarriersAn annual report published by the Office of the United States Trade Representative (of the Office of the President). The National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (NTE) surveys foreign barriers to U.S. exports. The report provides some estimates of the impact of foreign practices on the value of U.S. exports. Note that other relevant documents may be provided on this page.