Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Campus History Collection

Reading Room Guidelines

  • All materials must be used in the reading room and handled with care.  
  • Please use only pencils, laptops, and/or digital cameras.
  • No food or drink.
  • Please keep materials in the order in which they are found.
  • Permission to photocopy is required, with scanning done by staff only. 

Copyright and Reproductions

Researchers assume full responsibility for conforming to copyright, laws of libel, and property rights when quoting or publishing materials. Contact archives staff for publication guidelines and application when interested in reproducing or publishing content from the Archives & Special Collections. 

Privacy and Use Policy

Some records in the archives may contain restrictions. Viewing restricted materials requires permission from the creator of the records. On rare occasion patron registration and usage information may be shared with other campus offices when necessary. 

Statement of Sensitive Materials

Providing physical and digital access to materials within the Campus History Collection helps expand awareness and knowledge of Cal Maritime’s long history. The materials in the Collection are historical in nature, reflect the society in which they were produced, and may contain racial, gender, sexual, religious, and other language and imagery that are considered offensive to many. We know that such depictions were wrong and are wrong today. However, these records reflect some shared attitudes of the time in which they were created and as such are important to the social record. Not presenting them as they were originally created would be the same as claiming these prejudices never existed.   

 

If the offensive text is not in the original, but in a finding aid, catalog record, or other description created by library employees, please contact Archives and Special Collections to bring this to our attention.  

Digital Collections Take-Down Policy and Disclaimer

Digitized collections are made available for purposes of education and research. We have indicated what we know about copyright and rights of privacy, publicity, or trademark. Due to the nature of archival and other collections, we are not always able to identify this information. We are eager to hear from any rights owners, so that we may obtain accurate information. Upon request, we’ll remove material from public view while we address a rights issue.

Collections Policy

Purpose

The mission of the Library’s Campus History Collection (CHC) is to acquire, document, preserve, and provide access to materials, documents, artifacts, and ephemera that directly relay the unique history, traditions, and heritage of the California State University Maritime Academy, from its inception in 1929 to the present.

Through our collections of president papers, academic records, University publications, and student, faculty, and alumni collections, we aim to document the not only the intellectual history, but the social, cultural and visual history of the institution throughout its long history. We support the research, use, and dissemination of Cal Maritime history and offer reference services to all members of our community.

Users

The primary responsibility is to the faculty, staff and students of the Cal Maritime, as well as to the alumni, city of Vallejo, and surrounding community.  

Acquisitions

The CHC happily receives gift that reflect our areas of interest or reflect the curriculum or research of Cal Maritime. Acquisitions are only made if they are in the interest of the collection.

Appraisal Criteria

The University Archives follows certain criteria when appraising potential acquisitions. These criteria include:

  • Record completeness.
  • Record authenticity and record reliability.
  • Physical condition.
  • Volume.
  • Date range or coverage.
  • Format and usability.
  • Accessibility and restrictions.
  • Research needs.
  • Adherence to the Collection Policy requirements.

Deaccessions

Reappraisal of records is a necessary part of collection development and allows the archive to remove materials that would no longer be acquired today or appropriate to the University Archives’ mission to preserve. This is called deaccessioning and is considered for records that meet one or more of the following conditions:

  • No longer relevant to the University Archives’ mission.
  • Cannot be properly stored, preserved, or made accessible.
  • Unnecessarily duplicative.
  • No longer retains its physical integrity or authenticity.

Part of a collection owned or governed by another repository that is publicly accessible.

Deaccessioned records may be transferred to other repositories, returned to donors, offered for public sale, or destroyed. Materials will not be given or sold to Cal Maritime employees, trustees, or their immediate families. All proceeds from sale of materials will be used to support the preservation or development of the University Archives.

California State University Maritime Academy

Cal Maritime Library
200 Maritime Academy Drive
Vallejo, CA 94590 
707-654-1090

If you experience problems using this website, please email us. We are working to remediate accessibility barriers and will provide accommodations upon request.