Ask me!
OneSearch
- Find research materials (articles, books, e-books, reports, DVDs, and more) at Cal Maritime.
- Request delivery of items from other CSU libraries via CSU+.
Browse Articles
- American ShipperBrowse headlines and some articles online. Read current print copies in the Library; older issues are in storage.
- Cargo Business NewsRead past issues online. Browse current issues in the Library.
- Cruise Business ReviewRead most current 2 years in the Cal Maritime Library. Request older copies from off-site storage.
- Ports and HarborsRead current print copies in the library.
- Port Technology InternationalMost articles available for free
- Seaports MagazineArticles free online
Search for Articles in Specific Databases
- ABI/Inform This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, advertising, marketing, economics and finance.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine and newspaper articles on a broad range of topics.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowContains current U.S. government and military information including full-text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for 400 journals.
- International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOpen Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary scholarly, government and general interest titles focused on human impact of the environment. Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for open access articles.
Database Search Tips
- Jot down alternate search terms to describe your topic
- Separate search terms into separate search boxes
- Be prepared to try several search combinations to find the best articles
- Article databases will suggest new search terms to find more articles.
- Most articles are full-text online, but click the "SFX" button if you find one that isn't
- Contact your librarian if you get stuck!
Supply Chain Regulations
- Supply Chain Due Diligence Legislation MapInteractive map that lets you look at supply-chain regulation that has been proposed or is in effect. Free resource provided by Elevate, an LRQA company; you do not need to create and account.
Statistics
- Port Industry StatisticsWorld port rankings by volume or value of trade, revenues, and storage capacity
Unions
- ILWU: International Longshore and Warehouse UnionCheck out the website's "History" section, and past issues of The Dispatcher newspaper.
- ILA: International Longshoremen's AssociationRead recent news items, and past issues of the NewsReport newsletter. An interactive history timeline is also available.
Port Security
- Homeport: Homeland Security / USCGIncludes information on International Port Security Program (ISPS Code) and Maritime Transportation Security Act (MTSA), and lots of other information.
Materials from Class Spring 2024
Articles used in class 3/13/24
El-Raey, M. (1997). Vulnerability assessment of the coastal zone of the Nile delta of Egypt, to the impacts of sea level rise. Ocean & Coastal Management, 37(1), 29–40. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0964-5691(97)00056-2. Link to article in OneSearch.
Jevrejeva, S., Moore, J. C., & Grinsted, A. (2012). Sea level projections to AD2500 with a new generation of climate change scenarios. Global and Planetary Change, 80–81, 14–20. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.gloplacha.2011.09.006. Link to article in OneSearch.
Ng, A. K. Y., Chen, S.-L., Cahoon, S., Brooks, B., & Yang, Z. (2013). Climate change and the adaptation strategies of ports: The Australian experiences. Research in Transportation Business & Management, 8, 186–194. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.rtbm.2013.05.005. Link to article in OneSearch.