Ask me!
Browse Current News
Cal Maritime subscribes to the the following digital editions:
-
New York TimesBrowse the World, Business or other sections for ideas of current topics. To register for full access, go to www.nytimes.com/passes & log in with your Cal Maritime email for an academic pass. Passes must be renewed annually.
-
Journal of Commerce This link opens in a new windowNews and in-depth analysis for shipping and logistics industries. Comprehensive market data, including trade lane volume, trade statistics, schedule reliability & pricing information.
To request articles from the back issue archive, contact the library at library@csum.edu. -
Science This link opens in a new windowLeading journal of original scientific research, science news, and commentary. Off campus access requires login.
Newspaper Databases
-
NewsBank This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive news collection useful for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, magazines, broadcast transcripts and videos.
-
NewsStream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
Database Search Tips
It's easy to get overwhelmed with too many results in a news database search.
Try searching just the lead/headline in Newsbank or abstract in Proquest NewsStream for more relevant results.
Limit your sources by geography to get news from the country you're researching.
Look for opinion stories to identify the "pro" and "con" arguments. Opinion stories may be labeled:
- "Editorial"
- "Op-Ed"
- "Commentary"
- "Column"
Maritime News Online
Several maritime publications have websites where you can get a quick sense of what's happening in the maritime world - and maybe get inspiration for a research assignment!
-
The Maritime ExecutiveMaritime news with an executive focus.
-
Professional MarinerThis website for Professional Mariner magazine, "Journal of the Maritime Industry," provides news items. The printed magazine is available at the Library.
-
gCaptainThis blog aggregates maritime news and provides commentary. Provide your email to get daily updates.
News Magazines
-
TIME"Breaking news and analysis from TIME.com. Politics, world news, photos, video, tech reviews, health, science and entertainment news."
-
Newsweek"Newsweek provides in-depth analysis, news and opinion about international issues, technology, business, culture and politics."
-
U.S. News & World Report"U.S. News & World Report publishes news, opinion, consumer advice, rankings, and analysis."
Reading News Article Citations
This weekly magazine is aimed at a popular audience.