Recommended Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowContains journal, magazine and newspaper articles on a broad range of topics.
- ABI/Inform This link opens in a new windowContains articles on business, advertising, marketing, economics and finance.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains journal content, primary sources and images from humanities, social sciences and the sciences.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowContains articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles and book chapters in the areas of Physical Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary scholarly, government and general interest titles focused on human impact of the environment. Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for open access articles.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.4 million records in the field of education.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly and scientific articles on Psychology.
Scholarly vs. Popular
Scholarly articles usually have:
- An abstract
- A bibliography
- An author who is a scholar in the field
- Content that has been peer-reviewed
- Citations have volume(issue).
Example:
Smyth, A. M., Parker, A. L., & Pease, D. L. (2002). A study of enjoyment of peas. Journal of Abnormal Eating, 8(3), 120-125.
This article is aimed at an academic or research-oriented audience.
Reading Journal Article Citations
This journal article is aimed at an academic audience.
Grow your Bibliography
1. Find a great source on your topic.
2. Mine it for keywords, subject headings, and sources in its bibliography.
3. Do more searching and watch your bibliography grow.